Charleston's Stingrays are new hockey champions

Image by StingraysImage by 20090606-stingrays.jpg

The Alaska Aces were set to make history last night by taking home the Kelly Cup title after falling behind 3-1 in the series, but the team just couldn't pull it off: The South Carolina Stingrays won 4-2.

Read more stories on this subject in our Kelly Cup topic page. If there was any doubt that Charleston's team would be the victors, it was erased when Matt Shasby gave the Rays a 4-2 lead with just 25 seconds left.

It undoubtedly came as a hard blow to the standing-room-only crowd of 6,610.

To learn more about the game, check out The Anchorage Daily News' nice write-up and photo gallery.

Congrats, Stingrays.

This is the third time the Stingrays have been crowned champions of the ECHL: Once in 1997, and once in 2001. Not too shabby for an area of the country that rarely ever sees snow.

Filed in